Two Catholic Schools in the Archdiocese of Washington Receive 2020 National Blue Ribbon Distinction

Schools among only 50 private schools nationwide to be recognized

WASHINGTON, D.C. – On behalf of the Catholic Schools Office and the Archdiocese of Washington, Kelly Branaman, Secretary for Catholic Schools and the Superintendent of Schools, is excited to announce that two Catholic schools in the Archdiocese of Washington were recognized today by the U.S. Department of Education as 2020 National Blue Ribbon Schools. The Department of Education recognized 367 schools, and among the 50 non-public schools named, the two Archdiocese of Washington Catholic schools are:

Our Lady of Mercy School in Potomac, MD

St. Peter School in Olney, MD

This year marks the second Blue Ribbon award for St. Peter School (2012, 2020) and the third award for Our Lady of Mercy (1998, 2009, 2020), the first three-time recipient in the archdiocese. The National Blue Ribbon designation is given to public and non-public schools across the country based on their academic excellence or progress as America’s most successful schools. The awards are given annually by the United States Department of Education. In this 38th year of the program, Catholic schools in the Archdiocese of Washington have received the Blue Ribbon designation a total of 49 times.

In light of the ongoing pandemic, both of our awardees are celebrating their Blue Ribbon designation virtually in accordance with guidance and guidelines from the United States Department of Education, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and the Archdiocese of Washington.

Read more about the National Blue Ribbon awards and these schools in the Catholic Standard.

National Blue Ribbon Schools in the Archdiocese of Washington

Archdiocesan Catholic Schools

  • Our Lady of Mercy School, Potomac, MD (1998, 2009, 2020)
  • St. Peter School, Olney, MD (2012, 2020)
  • Blessed Sacrament School, Washington, D.C. (2012 and 2019)
  • St. Joseph Regional Catholic School, Beltsville, MD (2019)
  • St. Peter School, Washington, D.C. (2013 and 2019)
  • St. Raphael School, Rockville, MD (2019)
  • Little Flower School, Bethesda, MD (2008 and 2017)
  • St. John School, Hollywood, MD (2017)
  • St. Peter School, Waldorf, MD (2017)
  • Holy Trinity School, Washington, D.C. (2016)
  • Our Lady of Victory School, Washington, D.C. (2007 and 2016)
  • St. Patrick School, Rockville, MD (2016)
  • St. Pius X Regional School, Bowie, MD (2016)
  • Cardinal Hickey Academy, Owings, MD (2015)
  • Our Lady of Lourdes, Bethesda, MD (2015)
  • Holy Cross School, Garrett Park, MD (2013)
  • St. John the Evangelist School, Silver Spring, MD (2013)
  • St. Peter School, Washington, D.C. (2013)
  • Father Andrew White, SJ School, Leonardtown, MD (2012)
  • St. Jane de Chantal School, Bethesda, MD (2011 and 1987)
  • St. Bartholomew School, Bethesda, MD (2011)
  • Mary of Nazareth School, Darnestown, MD (2011)
  • St. Mary School, Rockville, MD (2011)
  • St. John the Baptist School, Silver Spring, MD (2010)
  • Holy Redeemer School, Kensington, MD (2009)
  • St. Andrew Apostle School, Silver Spring, MD (2007 and 1989)
  • St. Bernadette School, Silver Spring, MD (2003 and 2000)
  • St. Camillus Catholic School, Silver Spring, MD (1996)
  • St. Catherine Labouré School, Wheaton, MD (1993)
  • St. Elizabeth School, Rockville, MD (1985)

Independent Catholic Schools

  •   Our Lady of Good Counsel High School, Olney, MD (2001 and 1992)
  •   Academy of the Holy Cross, Kensington, MD (1997)
  •   Stone Ridge School of the Sacred Heart, Bethesda, MD (1992 and 1986)
  •   DeMatha Catholic High School, Hyattsville, MD (1990 and 1983)
  •   Connelly School of the Holy Child, Potomac, MD (1988)
  •   Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School, Washington, D.C. (1986)
  •   Elizabeth Seton High School, Bladensburg, MD (1984)


The Archdiocese of Washington is home to over 655,000 Catholics, 139 parishes and 91 Catholic schools, located in Washington, D.C., and five Maryland counties: Calvert, Charles, Montgomery, Prince George’s and St. Mary’s.